House of Cards on NetflixTo be honest, I can’t remember how long I have been a Netflix subscriber. It started out as DVD delivery, I think two at a time, then transitioned to my current plan of streaming and single discs by mail. Although Netflix lost what the media portrayed as an endless amount of customers and their stock tanked following their big blunder in 2011, I stuck with Netflix through it all. I had noticed that in 2012 they released their first original series in Lilyhammer but I didn’t give it much of a shot. But after watching Netflix’s latest original series, House of Cards, I am absolutely going to add Lilyhammer to my instant queue if House of Cards is any kind of example of what Netlfix is bringing to streaming television entertainment.

Francis Underwood is Majority Whip. He has his hands on every secret in politics – and is willing to betray them all to become President.

House of Cards was a gamble for me. I’m not that interested in politics but that’s what makes it so great. Starring Kevin Spacey, Robin Wright, Kate Mara, and a number of other talented actors, this is a show about people. It is about relationships, drama, negotiation, power, greed, right, and wrong. It has gone so far beyond my expectations that I would easily compare or match this show up against any series on prime time television, cable, or even premium networks like HBO and Showtime. Yes, it’s that good. How is it that good? What is Netflix’s secret to success? Good question, and I’m sure there will be a lot of press about this show as well as the future of Netflix streaming and what their next original projects will be.

Netflix has been a leader in home entertainment for years, and will continue to be, now that they have hit a homerun with an original series and the timing couldn’t be more perfect. What else is happening in the news right now? Anyone hear that the post office may shut down Saturday delivery? If you are a Netflix disc subscriber, how many DVD’s do you think you’ll have to wait over the weekend for in order to receive when that takes effect? Do you think it will hurt Netflix’s DVD subscription service. Depending on how much revenue and profit the door-to-door DVD service brings in, I wonder if Netflix plans on keeping it around? There’s a number of factors involved when valuing the mail service but streaming? It’s going to become a no-brainer if they can deliver original series of this caliber.

Although Amazon Prime, Crackle, Hulu, and others have done well in the streaming home entertainment and mobile markets, they will soon be bowing down to the company who has true leadership, passion, and courage to build upon what they feel is best for consumers and themselves. Was Netlfix a bit early in their 2011 mail delivery and price changes? Yes. Have they learned from it? Yes, at least I think so. Have they invested in acquiring quality content for their viewers? I think they do as much as the film companies will let them. So what do you do when your customer’s demand new releases and shows of the same quality that HBO or Showtime create? You build your own. Thank you Netlfix, from a dedicated customer.

