My life is changing this year. Truthfully it’s always changing but the big jumps, the big steps, make it more visible, more recognizable. This year I’m joining an organization that I’ve grown close to, an organization I already respect, and above all, an organization that I want to work for and succeed with. Up to this point in my career, I’ve taken jobs as they were given, made the most I could from different opportunities, built confidence in my abilities and capabilities, and did what I could to improve upon and grow my career. On March 14th I will officially become an employee of CA Technologies. (Nasdaq: CA)

CA Technologies is an IT management software and solutions company with expertise across all IT environments—from mainframe and physical to virtual and cloud. CA Technologies manages and secures IT environments, enabling our customers to deliver more flexible IT services.

My starting role will be as a services consultant for managed services. With the experience I’ve gained in CA Clarity PPM, I will jump into supporting customers who employ hosted services. This position for me is a tremendous challenge and tremendous opportunity as I get to utilize my existing skills, focus on mastering them, embrace new software tools, and learn more about the software business as a whole and how I can continue to provide value and develop my career. What’s funny is I’m not sure what my first day or first week will be like but I know what’s on the table, I know I control my destiny, and I know this is the first chance I have at obtaining a true work-life balance as I will be working from home full-time.

So, what is managed services anyways? With so much buzz around cloud computing, hosted solutions, software as a service, etc.. I thought it would be in my best interest to research information around managed services. The Youtube video below does an excellent job of explaining managed services regardless of your role or background in technology.

As part of my new role, I’m hoping to blog and share more information than I have in the past. This is an exciting time for me as well as my family and I’m looking forward to starting something new, working in an industry that inspires me, and continuing to grow my career in technology.

